Old Fire Station

Information

The Old Fire Station, front and side of building (©Stuart Walker Photography)Opened in 1898, the original Carlisle Fire Station was based at Spring Gardens Lane. This building was demolished in the early 1960s to make way for Eden Bridge House. The Warwick Street Fire Station opened in 1940.

The Carlisle Floods in 2005 had a devastating impact on the city, residents and businesses. The Fire Station was one of the casualties and the building was under several feet of water.

Cumbria Fire & Rescue Service closed the fire station in 2012 and a year later, plans were put forward by Carlisle City Council to convert the building into a new arts centre.

Following a pilot programme of events, exhibitions and workshops, the £1 million redevelopment into a vibrant space for arts and entertainment got underway in October 2014.

The newly transformed Fire Station opened to the public in May 2015, hosting a huge range of musicians, artists and comedians, before flooding once again in December 2015 during Storm Desmond. However, the venue would rise once more like a phoenix, re-opening nine months later on Saturday 17 September 2016.

The main building provides four main spaces including: a ground floor foyer with box office; cafe-bar, plus a main auditorium for live music, comedy, theatre and exhibitions accommodating around 200 seated or 400 standing.

Engage with Old Fire Station

Contact

Address:
Old Fire Station
Peter Street
Carlisle
Cumbria
CA3 8QP

Phone:
01228 817590

Email:
webmaster@carlisle.city

Website:
oldfirestation.carlisle.city

Engage with McGrew's Bistro

Contact

Address:
McGrew's Bistro
Peter Street
Carlisle
Cumbria
CA3 8QP

Phone:
01228 817389

Email:
McGrewsBistro@gmail.com

Website:
oldfirestation.carlisle.city